Understanding Types of Ownership in the Hawaii Real Estate Exam

In the dynamic landscape of Hawaii’s real estate market, it is crucial for aspiring real estate professionals to grasp the various types of ownership. As part of the Hawaii real estate exam, understanding ownership structures such as condominiums, cooperatives, time sharing plans, land trust, and planned unit developments is essential. In this blog post, we will explore each of these ownership types, their unique characteristics, and key considerations for the exam.

1. Condominiums:

Condominium ownership refers to individual ownership of a unit within a larger complex or building. Study the fundamentals of condominium law, including the governing documents such as declarations, bylaws, and rules and regulations. Understand the roles and responsibilities of condominium associations, including the management of common areas and the collection of association fees. Familiarize yourself with the disclosure requirements specific to condominiums to provide accurate information to potential buyers and sellers.

2. Cooperatives:

Cooperative ownership entails owning shares in a corporation or cooperative association that owns the entire property. Gain an understanding of the unique characteristics of cooperatives, including the cooperative’s bylaws, proprietary leases, and the rights and obligations of shareholders. Learn about the approval process for prospective buyers and the allocation of shares and occupancy rights. Additionally, be aware of the financial considerations and potential restrictions associated with cooperative ownership.

3. Time Sharing Plans:

Time sharing involves multiple individuals sharing ownership and usage rights of a property for a specified period. Study the laws and regulations governing time sharing plans, including disclosure requirements, sales procedures, and the rights and responsibilities of time share owners. Understand the different types of time sharing plans, such as fixed-week, floating-week, and points-based systems, and the associated benefits and challenges.

4. Land Trust:

Land trust ownership involves placing a property into a trust, with a designated trustee holding legal title while beneficiaries enjoy equitable interest. Familiarize yourself with the concept of land trusts and their benefits, such as privacy and asset protection. Understand the roles and responsibilities of the trustee and beneficiaries, as well as the limitations and potential risks associated with land trust ownership. Study the legal requirements and procedures for creating and managing land trusts in Hawaii.

5. Planned Unit Development (PUD):

A Planned Unit Development is a mixed-use development that combines residential, commercial, and recreational elements. Gain knowledge of PUD regulations and restrictions, including zoning, land use, and design guidelines. Understand the common areas, amenities, and shared expenses associated with PUDs. Study the disclosure requirements specific to PUDs to ensure accurate information is provided to potential buyers and sellers.


Understanding the different types of ownership is crucial for success in the Hawaii real estate exam. Thoroughly studying the legal requirements, disclosure obligations, and unique considerations for each ownership structure will not only help you pass the exam but also equip you to serve clients effectively in real-world transactions. We have many topic based quizzes made for just this topic in our plans. Click here to learn more.